The Yidan Prize 2018 Announced Laureates

The Yidan Prize’s laureates this year are Northwestern University’s Professor Larry Hedges and edX’s founder and CEO, Professor Anant Agarwal. Both of them will be joined by approximately 350 world leaders in education at the Yidan Prize Summit on 10 December in Hong Kong. Professor Hedges has been awarded the Yidan Prize for Education Research for his ground-breaking statistical methods for meta-analysis. Professor Agarwal has been granted the Yidan Prize for Education Development for founding the innovative edX open-source online platform. EdX is an online learning destination founded by Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

This year’s laureates were chosen by an independent committee led by Dr Koichiro Matsuura, former Director-General of UNESCO. Mr Andreas Schleicher, Director for the OECD’s Directorate of Education and Skills leads the panel judging the Yidan Prize for Education Research, while Ms Dorothy K. Gordon, Chair of UNESCO IFAP and a member of the Governing Board of UNESCO Institute for Information Technologies in Education (UNESCO IITE), led the panel adjudicating the Yidan Prize for Education Development.

Founded in 2016 by Dr Charles Chen Yidan, the Yidan Prize has a mission to create a better world through education. Through a series of initiatives – research, events and multimedia content – alongside the annual award, the prize serves to establish a platform that allows the global community to engage in conversation around education and to play a role in education philanthropy.

Meanwhile, the Yidan Prize 2019 is now open for nomination. Nominate the best candidate that you see in the education landscape for world’s largest education prize.

Find out more about the announcement here.

Sign up for the Yidan Prize Summit 2018 here.

Nominate for the Yidan Prize 2019 here.